Facebook Connect

News & Blog

«Back

Awesome Gem Primed for Eddie Read

July 23, 2009 · By · Share

Awesome Gem is seeking his second victory of the year this Saturday in the $350,000 Eddie Read Stakes (gr. IT) at Del Mar. The six-year-old veteran will try the Del Mar turf for the second time in his career.

Awesome Gem most recently scored in an allowance race over the Hollywood turf course. Last summer, the son of Awesome Again missed winning the Wickerr Handicap on the Del Mar turf by a nostril. In 2007, he won the San Fernando Stakes (G2) and hit the board in the Pacific Classic, Goodwood, and Breeder's Cup Classic. He has earned $1,283,682 in his racing career for West Point Thoroughbreds.

Trainer Craig Dollase believes the recent win at Hollywood was exactly what his horse needed. "I am very happy we finally got a win under his belt. He has been so close in some of the best races in the country. If he shows the late closing kick like he did in his last start, he should be very tough."

Alex Solis, who guided Awesome Gem to victory last month at Hollywood will have the call in the Eddie Read. Awesome Gem drew post 5 of 8. Race 9 is scheduled for 5:30 PDT/8:30 EST.

West Point Thoroughbreds has another starter at Del Mar on Saturday with two-year-old Majestic Peak. The colt by Pico Central (Brz) has been training very well for Craig Dollase leading up to this race. He is set to make his debut in the seventh race with post time of 5:00 PDT/8:00 EST

 

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.

«Back