Facebook Connect

Awesome Gem/Runflatout Lead Big Weekend For WPT / Friday, July 8, 2011

West Point Thoroughbreds will certainly have a presence on Saturday at Hollywood Park, Hollywood Gold Cup day, which four black and gold bearers going postward.

West Point Thoroughbreds will certainly have a presence on Saturday at Hollywood Park, Hollywood Gold Cup day, which four black and gold bearers going postward.

 

Eight-year-old Awesome Gem seeks to reclaim his title in this year’s $500,000 Hollywood Gold Cup (gr. I) after earning the first Grade 1 victory of his career in last year’s running. Saturday marks the first time he will start in Southern California this year. Most recently he won the Lone Star Park Handicap (G3) before finishing 2nd in the Cornhusker at Prairie Meadows on June 25th.
 

WPT President Terry Finley and trainer Craig Dollase made the decision to run on Tuesday evening after seeing how well this veteran rebounded out of the Cornhusker. "He's in good form and he loves this track," Dollase said. "I think he deserves a shot to defend his title. I've been really happy with him in the last week."


“He’s the type of horse that’s so easy on himself,” said Finley. “His last four races have been the best four of his career numbers wise, and he’s happy and healthy, so we’re going to be a bit old school and wheel right back. He’s a tremendous horse with an amazing body of work that has taken his Partners for a ride.”                 

 

Awesome Gem's 2010 Gold Cup win:

 


Happy Partners in the winner's circle post race. 

 

Post time for the Hollywood Gold Cup is 4:37 PT/7:37 ET.  It will be aired live on ESPN on Saturday night, with coverage running from 4:00 pm PT/7:00 pm ET-5:00 pm PT-8:00 pm ET.

 

HOLLYWOOD GOLD CUP HANDICAP | PURSE: $500,000 | GRADE 1 | 3-YEAR-OLDS & UP | 1 1/4 MILES

Post

Horse

Jockey

Weight

1

Twirling Candy

J. Rosario

122

2

Miss Match (ARG)

J. Talamo

110

3

Setsuko

V. Espinoza

115

4

Game On Dude

C. Sutherland

118

5

Awesome Gem

D. Flores

116

6

Soul Candy

G. Gomez

114

7

First Dude

M. Garcia

116

8

Dark Cove

R. Bejarano

115

Earlier on the card, WPT sends out the talented three-year-old son of Flatter, Runflatout in the $150,000 Swaps Stakes (gr. II) . Trained by John Sadler, Runflatout is coming off second place finishes in both the Lazero Barrerra Stakes and Affirmed Handicap at Hollywood Park. This colt certainly looks like an an up and coming star, and he could see action is some of the upper echelon three-year-old races this year with a solid performance on Saturday.

“He’s been training super,” said John Sadler. “He’s just a magnificent animal to watch. I think he will handle the added distance in here. Garrett (Gomez) is back aboard, and he is a master at getting horses to settle.”

“The future certainly looks bright for Runflatout,” said Terry Finley. “Coil could be tough to beat in here, but we are back for revenge. He’s learning how to settle in the early part of his races, which is a huge step forward in his development.  I know this horse’s Partners are pumped up and looking forward to Saturday. If he runs well we will take a look at the big races in the East this summer.”

SWAPS STAKES | PURSE: $150,000 | GRADE 2 | 3-YEAR-OLDS | 1 1/8 MILES

Post

Horse

Jockey

Weight

1

Runflatout

G. Gomez

112

2

Spud Spivens

A. Quinonez

114

3

Coil

M. Garcia

118

4

Uncle Sam

R. Bejarano

114

5

Dreamy Kid

J. Talamo

114

6

Boxeur des Rues

J. Rosario

114

Post time for the Swaps is 2:34 PT/5:34 ET.

West Point also sends out Switzers Da Man and T J’s Passion on the undercard. Best of luck to these runners and their Partners!



How Much Does It Cost to Own A Racehorse With West Point Thoroughbreds?

It costs less than you might think. Get the FREE report!